When in Texas, we eat BBQ!

My husband is a meat eater and he may not want to admit it but he secretly loves Texas BBQ. Our 15 year old, Joshua, on the other hand, thinks of himself as a “vegetarian” and actually despises anything BBQ. Looking for a place to eat while we were in downtown Dallas, I suggested to go to a popular Texas BBQ joint. I wanted to go to one we haven’t been before and preferrably not a chain restaurant. My husband jumped right in at this idea. Regardless of Joshua’s protest, we drove to Off The Bone in Deep Ellum. The restaurant is small but unlike many BBQ eateries, inside is clean and bright. There are probably only about 8 or so tables and they also have a patio area.. There are no servers and you wait in line to order at the register. We ordered the Family Dinner, complete with ribs, smoked chicken, sausages and brisket about $38 and for extra $7, we ordered two sides (beans and coleslaw). I was skeptical to order one of their famous sides- FRIED CORN! But because of curiosity and after reading up on it on D Magazine, I ordered it anyway. “The deep fried corn is an amazing two-dollars-worth of crispy, crackly corn kernels, seasoned with spice. Squeeze a little lime love over the corn before you start, and your life is gold.” This was the description of it on D Magazine. No exaggeration there- it was yummy!

off the bone

 

fried corn

fried corn

The ribs were perfect, brisket was delicious and the sausages were absolutely divine. I think these are the best sausages I’ve had out of all the Texas BBQ restaurants I’ve been to (including those from Austin and San Antonio).

off the bone2

off the bone4

Would I recommend this place? Absolutely! Definitely worth the drive to Dallas from the burbs 🙂

off the bone5

