Gipsy Kings and my love for Spanish music

One of my all time favorites, the Gipsy Kings, were in Dallas last night at the AT&T Performing Arts Center. Keith asked me two nights prior if I want to see them in concert. I am not a huge fan of concerts but I knew I had to see the Gipsy Kings.

Yesterday, I bought all sorts of Spanish tapas to pack in our picnic bag to bring to the concert. Jamon serrano, olives, a variety of cheeses from Spain, torta, quince paste (membrillo casero), and of course, vino!

Image

 

Image

We’ve never been to the AT&T Performing Arts Center. It is one of the nicest concert venues I’ve been to. The Gipsy Kings  concert was outdoors. People who were lined up had chairs, coolers, and blankets with them. These were the ones who bought lawn seating. You had an option to buy seats, lawn, or table seating. For future concerts, I think I will buy the table seating.

While waiting for the concert to start, we brought out our Spanish wines and all the food we packed.

Image

Image

 

Image

The sons of the Gipsy Kings opened. They sang beautifully and who knows, they can make it out on their own in the future just like their dads.

Image

The Gipsy Kings opened with a couple of new songs from their latest album, Savor Flamenco. Then towards the end, they sang the more popular songs- Bamboleo, Un Amor,Baila Me, and closed with Volare.

ImageImage

 

One of the perks of watching an “older” band is the crowd. They tend to be older yet sophisticated. Last night, people were mostly from the age of late thirties to mid fifties (no under 18 in sight!). Some were dressed really nice (as in suits), some were in shorts, and some were in between. I had the best time and I hope Gipsy Kings will come back to Dallas again!

