My Travel Bucket List

If I had a travel bucket list in my twenties, I’d be proud to say I have already accomplished most of them by now. After graduating from college, I knew I was put in this world to travel. I thought then that was the only purpose of my life, believing that this fascinating world was my playground. In spite of finishing with a Business Administration major, I applied as a flight attendant for one of the US major airlines. I was fortunate to be chosen after only the first interview. Less than a year on the job, I applied for a leave of absence and took my mom with me to Europe.

Although I have been to 29 countries, to date, I still feel that I have not done enough. There are still so many places I need to see. I have made up a future travel list and I hope to achieve them someday. I can only hope and dream! 😄

What’s in my bucket list? 

1)  I want to trek Machu Picchu in Peru!

My husband laughed at me when I mentioned my desire to see Machu Picchu. He didn’t think I could do it because I was never the type who liked hiking and camping. “You just don’t roll over your comfy bed at the Hyatt and think you will reach Machu Picchu in an hour”, he told me.  I felt challenged and determined to prove him wrong. Fortunately, with my due diligence I found out that you don’t need to do any camping if you do the two-day-trek tours. And the best part is there are many luxury hotels to choose from in Aguas Calientes, the town where  you would be spending the night!

Machu Picchu (Peru)

Here are some of the links I found for 2 Day Trek Tours and here

**Also, another option is to fly from Lima to Cusco. From Cusco, take a train to Machu Picchu. There are several types of train to choose from the Perurail- Vistadome, Expedition, and Hiram Bingham. Also here and here

2) I want to explore all the UNESCO World Heritage Sites in the Philippines

Properties inscribed on the World Heritage List (6)

Cultural
Natural

http://whc.unesco.org/en/statesparties/PH/

** I have already been to one of the Baroque churches, San Agustin Church, in Intramuros where my first born was baptized in 1998.

UNESCO Philippines

3) I want to go to Tibet. 

I’m not sure what my fascination is with Tibet (especially that China is still holding it “captive”). Perhaps I want to see where the Dalai Lama lived. Perhaps I want to be in- what the Buddhists refer to-a holy city. Perhaps the people and their culture fascinate me. Perhaps it’s the idea that not many tourists have been there. Whatever it is, Tibet has piqued my curiosity. But because travelling there is quite difficult (especially health-wise), this list is definitely going to be a challenge for me.

Tibet

4) I love anything Middle Eastern (and honestly think I was middle eastern in my past life)!

 ~I want to go to Dubai and see Burj Al Arab -the only seven star hotel in the world! 

More information on Dubai. Also here

IMG_2113

~I want to go to Morocco and shop at  the souks

IMG_2114

~I want to go to Turkey because it is the only country that is in Asia and Europe.

Blue-Mosque-in-Turkey

~I want to see the Pyramid in Egypt

IMG_2117

~I want to see the ancient city of Petra in Jordan.

IMG_2116

Or heck,  anywhere I can ride a camel because that alone would fulfill my Middle Eastern dream.

camel

5) I want to explore Angkor Wat

Back in college, two of my closest friends were Cambodians, Richer and Sithea. They often talked about how beautiful their country was. Unfortunately, Cambodia wasn’t very accessible to tourists during that time. 

angkor wat

6) I want to learn how to dance the Tango in Argentina!

 I’m not much of a dancer but if I can do even a few steps, then hey I can cross that off my bucket list.

tango in argentina

7) I want to dine at 58 Tour Eiffel- the restaurant in the Eiffel Tower! 

I’ve been to Paris four times and not once did I even try to climb up the Eiffel Tower. And I am not sure why it never crossed my mind to dine there either. I really do not know why and it’s still a mystery to me what was going through my little brains  in the four times I visited Paris. Beats me….

LIFESTYLE-GASTRONOMY-DUCASSE-EIFFEL

Additional information:

1st floor of the Eiffel Tower
Champ de Mars
75007 PARIS

We recommend you to arrive 30 minutes before your reservation at the restaurant booth (between the north and east pillars, near the BNP Paribas cash machine) to take your lift ticket which gives priority access to the 1st floor of the Eiffel Tower.

Access to the Eiffel Tower
By metro:
Line 6 (stations: Dupleix, Bir-Hakeim or Trocadéro)
Line 9 (station: Trocadéro)
Line 8 (station: École Militaire)
By RER: Line C (station: Champ de Mars Tour Eiffel)
By bus: Lines 42, 69, 72, 82 or 87
By Batobus : Eiffel Tower stop

Lunch-continuous service from 11:30 to 4:30 pm Dinner-2 sittings: 6:30 and 9:00

*For people who don’t have reservation, please purchase your tickets directly at the Eiffel Tower or at www.tour-eiffel.fr

8) I want to see the snow capped mountains of the Himalayas especially Mount Everest.

I also want to ride an elephant. And there is no other place to do this but in Nepal.

 

IMG_2120

9) I want to have afternoon tea at the Ritz or Harrods in London

When I went to London a few years back with my mom and her sister, I asked them if they want to join me for an afternoon tea at Harrod’s. They both declined because they found the price a little too steep (I can’t remember if it was US $50 or 50 British pounds). I ended up not going because I didn’t want to do it alone. I now regret that decision!

afternoon tea Ritz

10) I want to float in the Dead Sea

I wish I had done this when I went to Israel but I was limited in time and money way back then. Definitely something to look forward to…

dead-sea-jordan_11374_600x450

11) I want to visit Cuba  

Why Cuba? Because Cuba is one of the most interesting places in the world. The culture is colorful, the people are vibrant, and in spite of the country being “poor”, it boasts a 100% literacy rate. The healthcare is also very good, one of the best in the world (something we Americans have yet to learn from). Because of the so many restrictions imposed by the US government,  it makes me want to visit it badly.  And I will!

havana-Cuba

12) Trek the Everest Region in Nepal

My ultimate bucket list is to trek the Everest region in Nepal. There’s something about Mt. Everest that gives me all the feels but unfortunately I won’t be able to climb it….not in this lifetime anyway!

13) I want to go to Patagonia

Because seriously, not too many I know has been to Patagonia! Who doesn’t want to see the breathtaking views, or to experience 4 seasons in one day? It’s crazy how Patagonia isn’t in everyone’s bucket lists!

*I have many more that I can think of but I probably should stop here…for now. Besides I only have this lifetime to achieve these goals! My life comes with many responsibilities and time is a big factor. If I can accomplish even just half in this list, I will be happy. 

