My flight from Dallas to Narita was unbearable–I had a migraine from the moment we took off at DFW to the minute we landed in Narita. I couldn’t wait to arrive in Manila.

spiral7

On my first day, I knew exactly where to go. I wanted to combine a spa with a delicious lunch. My cousin, Cristina (who was also visiting from Florida) and I knew the perfect place for that- the Sofitel Philippine Plaza.

spirals

We checked in at Le Spa and we were told they were having a ‘promo’ that included a package of spa, lunch, and a haircut. I added manicure and pedicure-all for the price of just a little over a hundred dollars. We started our R&R adventure with a lunch at Spirals.

spirals4

spirals2

 

spirals5

 

each of the opened drawers are stuffed with chocolates
each of the opened drawers are stuffed with chocolates

spirals6

Spirals has been named  by TripAdvsisor as one of the Top 10 of the 2014 Travelers’ Choice Favorite Fine Dining Restaurant within Asia. The award was much deserved because the restaurant was fabulous and the food was amazingly good. It came with 21 different stations that host different international cuisines. They had Japanese, North Indian, Korean, Chinese, French, Italian, Spanish, Filipino, and many more. The dessert area was complete with gelato, native desserts, chocolates, and anything your sweet tooth can handle! I felt I landed in heaven after that miserable flight. I have been to many restaurants around the world and this by far tops them all.

After the scrumptious lunch, we proceeded to the spa and had our manicure/pedicure.  We were offered jasmine tea while getting our nails done.

spa2

Then it was time for our one hour massage.  Cristina and I shared a room. It was the most relaxed I’ve felt in many years. One of the rooms had a private balcony. And this is the view:

spa1

spa view

 

spa view2

We didn’t have time to do our haircut but they told us that the certificate will not expire.  Perfect. I will be back in 2016!